Lyon Voyage Quilt

After teaching today I started to work on some ideas for my May / June Voyage Quilt. My series is based on ethnic textiles and I wanted to make a piece inspired by the silk industry in Lyon, following my visit there in April.

I started to collect some images of silk designs that i liked and here are 2 designs,

This one is by Anna Maria Garthwaite and the other one is by James Leman

I really like the fact that they are drawings and the grids on the drawings would translate really well into quilting.

Image 1

 

Image

 

I started to make a sample and did some printing and embroidery on the fabric

Image 2

 

I would like to add the lettering behind the embroidery. They are the numbers from the screen printing trays. The swirls are the metal work on the balconys  seen through out Lyon

Image 3

One thought on “Lyon Voyage Quilt

Leave a Reply

