Getting ahead

 

 

 

IMG_4385

 

With a very busy October coming up I wanted to get ahead with my Journal Quilts, not something i have ever done before!

Here is another JQ based on Swedish Textiles.

It is stitched with Bermilana thread, woolly and can be tricky to use. I love using it as ican look like it has been hand stitched. I used some braid that I bought in Sweden and some buttons I was given, and dyed the wool felt.

I had another look at my Copenhagen piece and decided I needed to make the bicycles more prominent so stitched a bit of colour on them. Looks better now.

IMG_4386

 

I have been working this week, as well as teaching and giving a talk one afternoon, on writing the instructions for an article to appear in Sewing World early next year. It will include some block printing, sewing on shisha glass and a little kantha stitching

Here is an example of the finished small wall hanging, table runner.

IMG_4388

Leave a Reply

