Thick Threads Workshop

This week I ran a 3 day workshop from my studio. It started as a request from a group of students.

We started drawing a still life straight on to canvas, coloured it using inktense crayons and blocks and then added some stitch using 12 weight threads.

Here are some of the results

IMG_2927IMG_2928IMG_2929IMG_2930IMG_2931IMG_2933IMG_2932IMG_2934

Students then went on to develop their own ideas by dying some woollen fabric and stitching with various 12wt threads

IMG_2935IMG_2936IMG_2937IMG_2938IMG_2939IMG_2940IMG_2941IMG_2942IMG_2943IMG_2944IMG_2945

The course was a success partly due to Aurifil and Wonderfil supplying me with threads to students to experiment with.

Here is an email I received last night from one of the students

hi Gillian,

Many thanks for the 3 day thick threads workshop, I felt I learnt a lot and now feel much more confident using a variety of these threads. It was extremely valuable being able to try out so many different threads particularly the ‘goodie’ sample pack of aurofil lana in such lovely colour ways. I also loved sampling the other types of thread too such as accent and spagetti. I definitely will be purchasing more of these threads in the future to enhance my textile work!  No other venue or workshop would have given us the opportunity to experiment with such a variety of thicker threads.

Thankyou.

Would be good to have a chance to teach the course again somewhere! I have lots of threads to bring with me.

Leave a Reply

