Residential Courses

For the last few years I have run residential courses in the South lakes at Grange Over Sands. I have had a lot of interest and have decided to run 2 this year in November.

Here are all the details

Email me if you are interested. I already have a few bookings for each week

Residential course at Abbott hall

Grange over Sands

I hope to be able to run 2 courses this year

16th November – 20th November

23rd November – 27th November

It will run from Monday lunchtime to Friday lunchtime

I keep the costs to a minimum but need to check the prices but it will not be more than £400 and that includes

Single ensuite rooms

Monday evening meal, Tuesday, Wednesday and Thursday breakfast and evening meal, Friday breakfast.

All teaching but not materials

Use of swimming pool

Tea coffee and cake

Timetable

9.0 – 12.30

4.0 – 6.30

8.0 – whenever

 16th November – 20th November

Draw Design and Stitch

Same course as last year’s successful week

Monday

Design and Draw

Using our ipads, camera, phones etc we will go for a short walk (hopefully the weather will be ok) and take some inspirational photos.

Back in the studio we will draw from these photos, we will look at ways of tracing, copying, printing etc to make it easy for ourselves.

Design work will involve drawing lines with different media eg pens, pencils etc

Looking at artists work eg Rothko, Van Gogh, Angie Lewin etc

Tuesday

Printing, painting on to paper in the morning. I will have lots of blocks and screens with me.

In the early evening session we will cut and tear these papers to make some designs

You might like to walk into Grange over Sands on Tuesday afternoon

Wednesday

Printing on to fabric.

Silk Painting?

We will block and screen print in the morning and in the early evening start to stitch.

If the weather is ok in the afternoon we will go on the train to Arnside. It’s a short but spectacular train ride.

Thursday

Stitching – free machine skills, using unusual threads etc

Piecing – joining the printed fabrics together

Machine embroidery skills

Friday

Finishing off

Group get together etc

23rd – 27th November

Take a simple shape continued

We will start with some design work based on Notan and Counterchange

For those that may have done this before we will spend lots more time playing with papers etc

Next we will transfer these designs to fabric (batik fabric works well)

We will then go on to using felt, we can dye our own or use purchased felt.

We will screen print it and then add stitch

I use an innovative method to assemble it all and it will be revealed after FOQ!

Have a look at my Pomegranate, Pears, Jugs, Turnips, Jumpers, hats and mittens quilts!

There are so many possibilities

Those students who attended last years course will have the chance to book this course first

I do all the admin and run these courses myself so

I need a deposit of £50 made payable to Christian Guild and a cheque made out for the remainder to me. I will only cash this if you have to cancel less than 2 weeks before the course, unless you can find a replacement. You can pay by paypal or credit card the hotel after the week and pay me for the teaching by transfer.

I have had to ask for a cheque made out to me as someone cancelled the day before last year!

I will need your name, address, email address, phone number etc, and you may wish to take out holiday insurance

Gillian

2 thoughts on “Residential Courses

  1. Hi Gillian
    Please can you let me have your email address as I am very interested in your November courses. My name is Kate Stabler, email address is kate.stabler@ talktalk.net

  2. Hi Gillian

    My friend Margaret and I would be interested in doing your first course 16 – 20 November and I just wanted to check that you had places available.

    Many thanks.

    Glynne Blaik

Leave a Reply

