Updates

Since arriving back from South Africa, everything seems to have been non stop. I arrived back on the Tuesday afternoon and then left the next day for Munich. We (my husband came with me) went to visit my German friend and Quilter Uta Lenk and her husband Michael.

IMG_7109

So it was a little bit of quilting talk and lots of this

IMG_7120

it is a beautiful part of Germany and the weather was fabulous

IMG_6956

IMG_6984

IMG_7009IMG_7119

Uta thought Mark might like to visit a shop near her home, and she was right. Here are just a few of the photos I took there

IMG_7065

IMG_7069 IMG_7071 IMG_7079 IMG_7078 IMG_7091 IMG_7093

I have started to read up a bit more about the Shwe Shwe fabric I bought in South Africa, the designs originated from fabric brought from Germany Austria and Hungary, so it great to see similar fabric in the shops in Bavaria made into the national costume of the Dirnhl

IMG_7056 IMG_7186

We then went on to do some walking in the mountains near Salzburg

IMG_7213 IMG_7234 IMG_7245 IMG_7275 IMG_7290 IMG_7314 IMG_7340

We had a morning in Salzburg

IMG_7350 IMG_7386 IMG_7392

And then on to see Barbara Lange, where we met up again with Uta and had a very productive International threads Committee meeting.

Barbara showed me how to make a dirnhl

IMG_7413

I returned on the Tuesday and then left on the Wednesday to drive to Northampton to teach on Thursday, Friday and Saturday at the Bramble Patch.

We had 3 good days – thanks to some good fun (especially Pam, Sarah and Susan who came all 3 days) and talented students.

Here are just some pictures of their work

IMG_1755

IMG_1764 IMG_1756 IMG_1758 IMG_1757 IMG_1762 IMG_1763 IMG_1761

Sorry some of the photos have uploaded sideways.

And here is one of the early Morning Swim pieces of work

IMG_1767

Back at home for a couple of days and I have taught at the Quilt Cabin for 2 days. It has been good to teach felt making and another Early Morning Swim class.

My couple of days at home have been spent visiting the Graphic designers and my new book has finally gone to press so it will be ready for the Festival of Quilts – Phew! so will my new Indian Ladies Kits

IMG_1778 IMG_1777

and the Jumper kits, plus 1000 cards!

My head is bursting with ideas for new pieces of work, and being in a hotel in Weeden Bec came me a chance to start sketching for a couple of new pieces. I did some drawings in Bavaria to start.

IMG_1772 IMG_1776 IMG_1773 IMG_1775 IMG_1774

I have a piece of work to do as part of a South African Challenge, and started some sampling

IMG_1769 IMG_1770

and here are some drawings and some sampling for a piece of work that is due to go to Prague in April

IMG_1779

It has been an exhausting few weeks, after Festival of Quilts I have a quiet few weeks and time to tidy my studio – there are kits, samples, half finished quilts, piles of fabric all over the floor – it is such a mess!

2 thoughts on “Updates

  1. Hi Gillian, what an interesting update. You have been busy as usual. I love your fat, happy African lady. Not long now until FoQ – will probably see you there…quite understand you will not have time for more than a quick ‘hello’. Sounds like Mark is ok, hope the rest of the family likewise. Ann

    Sent from my iPad

    >

  2. Hi Gillian

    Thanks again for including us in your travels. Your photos are an inspiration. I don’t know how you do it. (When I take photos they don’t look like works of art.) Looking forward to seeing you and your work at the NEC.

    All the best Diana Hexagon Quilters, Charvil, Reading.

    Sent from my iPad

    >

Leave a Reply

