Geneva

I spent last weekend in the Geneva area teaching and visiting my friend Chantal

I taught a machine stitching class with Chantal translating. IMG_1950 IMG_1942

Followed by a lovely evening with raclette and aperertif

IMG_1951

We went to visit the Ethnographic museum in Geneva and I took masses of photos but I left my camera at Chantal’s so they are still in France.

We met up with Elizabeth and a long lunch in the sunshine

IMG_1935

And a walk along the lake

IMG_1937 IMG_1941 IMG_1940

Next day we met up with Caroline and had the day walking and talking. it is so good to have friends all over the World

IMG_1962

Just look at the views of Mont Blanc in the background! We then went to a bizarre Cow fighting festival – lots more photos but sadly they are on my camera – I do love this guys hat

IMG_1964

Back home and I have been teaching this week at the Quilt Cabin a design class and a stitching class

FullSizeRender IMG_1919 IMG_1915 IMG_1912

It was good to teach design again – it seems ages since I have taught just paper and paint classes.

The Quilt Cabin has some of my work up on display

IMG_1970 IMG_1969 IMG_1968 IMG_1967

And the new kit is available from their website

IMG_7484

The weather has been fabulous and I have been out walking and cycling

IMG_1966 IMG_1980 IMG_1981 IMG_1982

I always like it when students send me pictures of their finished pieces

Here is Amsterdam by Joke

IMG_1629

I have very little chance to do any of my own work this week but have been working on the teaching samples for the Spring Knitting and Stitching show in London. they need to appeal to the younger audience who like things to make for their home. Hope they will be ok?

IMG_1988 IMG_1987

A had a walk in Hebden Bridge today and took these photos – given me some good ideas for my design class

IMG_0018 IMG_0017 IMG_0016 IMG_0015 IMG_0014 IMG_0012 IMG_0019 IMG_0011 IMG_0008 IMG_0007

Finally

I have an exhibition planned for next March at Midsomer Quilting near Bath

It will be a joint exhibition with Sheena Norquay and I think it will be called

Is it really 40 years?

We are going to include some of our first quilts plus our most recent ones.

This is a long post but I guess I fit a lot into a week!

3 thoughts on “Geneva

  1. Ah, Gillian, it is always a pleasure to see your photos and read about your trips. I especially love the beach hut quilt from our trip to the lovely village outside of Cape Town. It’s better than my photo! Give my hugs to Sheena. Interesting, I have been invited to be in a three person art exhibit called Old is Good, showing where we started and what we are doing now. Have to put sleeves on a couple of quilts that have never seen the light of day – LOL.
    Cheers!

  2. Hi Gillian, it’s always lovely to read your newsy posts and this one was especially good! Loads of lovely things to look at and all that colour!
    My houses are on hold just at the moment as I’ve been so busy since Ann’s workshop event in Suffolk but I’m looking forward to resuming the project!
    Our visit to the Alsace was just brilliant and I passed your greeting onto Barb. It was lovely to see her work and of course everything else on display. I can’t wait to go back as the whole area is just do beautiful. I took lots of photos of the buildings and also a few line drawings of some buildings in Strasbourg which seems to be a feature on some building fronts. Very handy!

  3. Thank you Gillian, great photos, especially the reflections. I must just tell you that I bought your penguin kit last week, I just couldn’t resist it. I ordered it on Friday afternoon, and it arrived the next morning. Off to cut out all the pieces now and hope the final effect is as charming as yours! Exceptional value.

Leave a Reply

