Israel

Its been a few weeks since I wrote a blog post.

Its been, on the one hand a difficult few weeks but on the other a fabulous few weeks.I have had very little time to catch up – my time has been filled almost every minute of the day.

My wrist is still in plaster but I, hopefully, don’t have many more days to go until the pot is removed. I am hoping that it has healed well. No doubt I will be impatient and expect it to be back to normal straight away. I will work hard at the physio to get it working properly so that i can go back to doing my exercise classes asap.

I have been away for almost 2 weeks as I was invited by the Israeli Quilt Guild to teach at their Summer Workshop, to give a talk and to do some additional teaching.

I was also invited to carry out some research and I wanted to see a bit more of the country  to gain some inspiration for more quilts.

This is the fourth time i have been to Israel. It is a country with massive political issues and most quilters live with a little bit of a fear for their safety. The weather is fabulous (that’s if you like it hot and sunny every day – up to 37 degrees) the food amazing (humous tahini, fresh vegetables, delicious salads etc, etc, and the countryside spectacular.

I keep returning as it is the people I return to visit. They are very hospitable, kind and fun quilters.I have made some very special friends. I always have lots of invitations and return home with so many good memories.

So where do I start….

I will write several posts as I was taken to many fabulous places and have lots of photos.

 

My flight arrived late and I went up towards Haifa to stay with Elsy . It was so good to have the chance to be able to sit on a balcony in the late evening and have a glass of wine.

The next day Elsy took me to Akko to the Citidal, the Mosque, the folk museum and the Hamman.

IMG_6266IMG_6268IMG_6316

IMG_6324IMG_6318IMG_6317IMG_6308IMG_6293IMG_6365IMG_6377IMG_6343IMG_6441 (1)IMG_6437IMG_6433IMG_6442

We then went to see Eytan George Hurwitz a guy who had an embroidery exhibition in the town. He was a wonderfully eccentric guy who had been seriously injured in an accident and taken up embroidery. He casually mentioned he had been to Halifax. I asked why? He said that’s where his mother was born, so when I explained that was where I lived we then spent some time chatting about Yorkshire.

 

IMG_1621

Elsy then took me to right to the far north of Israel to see some caves.

IMG_6414IMG_6409

Beautiful!

The next day we visited Caesarea in the morning and in the afternoon I set off to Tiberias as I wanted to go to see the Sea of Gallilee and to go to Safed to see the artists colony. I booked myself into the hostel, had a wander round the small town of Tiberias- described in my guide book as neglected, yes it is a bit tacky but I really liked it and had some delicious hummus and a glass of wine sat in a small restaurant . It was boiling hot!

Safed is a small town with a large orthodox Jewish population and many artists. I wished i had had more time to spend there, it was good to see some very inspiring art work for sale and good to be able to speak to the artists

IMG_6564IMG_6557IMG_6555

 

 

 

More to come another day

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

6 thoughts on “Israel

  1. Wow fab photos and sounds like a lot packed into the trip Gillian , suspense to see your Israeli inspired creation .

Leave a Reply

