Laghmani Embroidery at Alsace

Last week i went to the 22nd European Patchwork Meeting at Sainte Marie Aux Mines in Alsace France. It was as always a fun occasion – i really go to see my friends, share experiences, drink wine and eat some good food. There were some fabulous quilts on show but my computer is full so i am struggling to post any photos of the quilts

One of the exhibitions I really enjoyed visiting was the Afghanistan collection of embroidery. It was appropriate as I was reading “The Little Coffee Shop of Kabul” by Deborah Rodriguez – now finished. Loved it!

I have met Pascale Goldenberg several times and have considered participating in one of the challenges to help promote the work she is doing in Afghanistan. I promised her I would write a blog post about her work

There are 200 embroiderers who embroider 8 cm squares to earn a living

More can be found on the website

http://www.guldusi.com

You can see them in the background of her photo. She sets challenges that involve buying one of the squares and inserting into a small quilt and adding some more embroidery or quilting. They are then shown around Europe

img_1390img_1525

Here are the ones I bought

img_1526

So i am going to entry the Message competition – I have to include one of the squares and add some more embroidery. It must be in French and must include a messageimg_1523

This is the square I am going to useimg_1527

I promised to share this post to try to encourage more entries from the UK as there were none at the exhibition

Tomorrow I will add another post about some of the other exhibitions and share a couple of my new pieces of work – that’s if I can sort my computer out – or delete some of the many photos I have

 

 

Leave a Reply

