New work etc

I haven’t posted for a couple of weeks – it’s good to think back to whatI been doing in the last couple of weeks. Always busy!

Well… I’ve had a few days holiday in Porto – one of my favourite cities. We went with some friends for a few days eating some delicious food and just having good company.

img_2871img_2809img_2669img_2499img_2702

I’ve had a few days in my studio and then went to Maastricht to the Open European Patchwork Championships.

I was teaching and had a demonstrator table at the show. It was disappointingly quiet and the workshops not very well attended. I wish i knew why.

Here are some of the fabulous quilts at the show. I just quickly took photos of some of the quilts I liked. I apologise for the fact that I haven’t got all the names of the makers on the photos

img_1947img_1946img_1941img_1940img_1952img_1951img_1948img_1960img_1961img_1962img_1963img_1978img_1990img_1985img_1982img_1981img_1992img_1991

So, here are some photos of my new work.

I wanted to make 2 more quilts for my Porto series. i wanted them to show how it is good to work in a series

img_1932

The background is painted with appliqued sardines and then additional paint added

img_1997

This one is stitched on 100% wool felt using Aurifil Mako thread, and is based on the designs found on Portuguese costume

This next photo should show how I have moved on from one quilt to make another

img_1996

They are all A2 size

I’ve been making some new samples for a Christmas workshop. All just a little bit of fun.

img_1999img_1998

Not finished yet

img_1936-1

I have been asked to exhibit my Scandinavian work at Aiguille en Fete in Paris in February. If anyone fancies a weekend in Paris, come and see me!

I’ll post more about it when I know more. i will be doing some teaching

img_2001img_2002

I finished my South African piece that I was stitching whilst at the Open Day at the Quilt Cabin in Hebden Bridge last weekend. I really want to make another of these using the Schwe Schwe fabric that I bought whilst in South Africa. I bought some more of the fabric whilst in Maastricht so i am now ready to go.

img_1933

 

One thought on “New work etc

  1. Thanks for your wonderful photos and inspiration. We just returned from a trip to Portugal and Spain where I was ‘collecting’ designs along the way and hope to create similar memories on fabric…especially all the cobble patterns! Keep sharing!

Leave a Reply

