Grange over Sands

Every year I run a couple of residential stitching weeks. I started them a quite a few years ago, with an aim, apart from the teaching to enable students to see a little of the area that we were in and to make them affordable to all.

We’ve tried a few places in the Lake district, and for the last few years have been to Grange over sands, staying in a Fawlty Towers type of hotel / conference centre.

It is a a forgotten part of the UK and in the Autumn a beautiful place to go, especially if you have good weather.

img_2217img_2272img_2274img_2273img_2303img_2302img_2325img_2278

So much inspiration to be found

I teach in the morning, we go shopping, walking, swimming etc in the afternoon then have tea and cakes at 4 and continue stitching until 10 in the evening, sometimes later.

This week I have been teaching my Interchange Applique class.

Here are some of the results from students.

img_2341img_2340img_2344img_2342img_2346img_2348img_2357img_2356img_2353img_2351img_2352img_2350img_2359img_2360img_2361img_2364img_2367

For some reason I seem to have missed a few

Here are the “jumper” samples

img_2345img_2347img_2349img_2354img_2363img_2358

 

Here are just a few more photos at presentation time

As I drove home today it gave me time to reflect on the week.

We have been so lucky with the weather, with clear blue skies on Wednesday and Thursday, there were some fabulous sun rises at 7 am and sunsets at 4pm.

img_2277img_2292img_2325img_2334img_2328

As always I took masses of photos

But what made it such a good week?

Talented students

So much fun and laughter

img_2243

A lovely mix of ages of students

Kindness and generosity from every

I love watching students get to know each other, have a fun week, share experiences and develop good friendships.

img_2368img_2369

Next year I will run another couple of residential weeks but I think it is time to find a better hotel, and perhaps go to a different area. I have an idea to go to a recommended centre near Matlock in Derbyshire

If anyone is interested in joining us please send me an email and I will send you the details when I have some. Admin is not something I like to do so, although the course will be well organised admin is not high on my list of things to do

I shall miss the company of you all this weekend, thanks for making work for me such a pleasure.

More adventures to come next week!

 

 

 

5 thoughts on “Grange over Sands

  1. Gillian, these are so inspirational, thank you for sharing them, I love all the different ideas, loved the elephant. It’s looks like you all had a great time. Tina Finbow

  2. Dear Gillian I first heard about you from Jenny at Patch of Blue in Cullen and I have really enjoyed following you travels and your work. I would be really interested in a residential course, please send me details as and when they are available. Best regards Fiona Early

    Sent from my iPhone

  3. Great location, fun students, lots of commitment, supportive atmosphere, all overseen by a talented and generous teacher= brilliant experience!

Leave a Reply

