January update

After a few weeks without any teaching, this week I was back at Hebden Bridge, teaching a Townscapes class and the Creative Textiles class that I teach every month. Our numbers are growing and it looks like I will have to teach another day a month – I’m not complaining. Lynne always does a brilliant job of photographing the day but we were hand stitching so there is not a lot to see. We were looking at Indian textiles and carrying out some Kantha stitching. The first kantha quilt I made was in 1995. The technique hasn’t changed since then but it was good to talk about my visit to Kolkata, having seen the museum there.img_2696img_2695img_2694img_2693

After having made a small Uzbekistan quilt I wanted to make a much larger one, and started working on it, I’ve painted the background and then added some gelli printing. There is so much more to do on it yet – just need a bit more time

I’ve cut all the “plates” out by hand and will place them on top of the painting but I haven’t decided on the layout yet.

img_2697

A couple of years ago I bought a Sizzix machine and I can’t resist investing, occasionally, in a few more dies. They are so easy to use.

Using my Interchange appliqué method and my sizzix machine I made these 2 quilts

I love the dense machine stitched lines using Mettler variegated thread. Most of my students know I don’t really like using variegated thread especially if the colours are in long blocks and are very different but I do like the Mettler colours and they work so well on these quilts.

I can’t wait to experiment more and make some more.

img_2711fullsizerender_2fullsizerender_1

 

After a few weeks at home I thought I would be really ready to get away and do lots more teaching but I have really enjoyed doing the Park runs on a Saturday, Body combat classes etc and making my almost daily trips to the gym. I shall miss it, and talking to all the other lovely women there that I have gradually got to know.

Today I did a Personal best on the 5km run. It was a different course and a bit hillier, and proud to have come 4th in my age category. Park runs are such a fabulous experience – you don’t have to be a good or fast runner. They are so well organized and there is a lovely atmosphere.

Although it seems hard when you are doing the run, I very quickly recover, and if nothing else it is a great excuse to eat chocolate.

 

One thought on “January update

  1. well done on the park runs. lovely to see the progress you are making on the quilts. I am thinking about a cutting machine eg a Sissix or some other but will see how I feel once my fracture is fully healed. Any advice on choosing a machine

Leave a Reply

